Healthy Banana Loaf Recipe

IMG_5876

Woo hoo it’s hump day! Half way through the week, we’re almost there. I also want to say thank you for all the positive feedback I have already about Fi Fi’s Skinny Munch. If anyone has any requests or questions, please feel free to hola…

fifisskinnymunch@hotmail.com

My post today was actually one of my first creations, which  further inspired me to find healthier alternatives to high-calorie and high fat  ingredients of traditional recipes. I am in fact munching on a slice of delicious healthy banana bread as I write this post.

My banana bread like most of my baked items are made with oat flour, I promise I’ll talk about something else soon! It makes a great pre-workout snack or snack for anytime of the day in fact. It can also be an excellent quick breakfast bite, a much healthier alternative to the sugar loaded cereal bars most of us are misled into buying.

IMG_5874

Banana and oats are excellent sources of energy, so combined provides super duper energy. I won’t go on about the goodness of oats again but , bananas I shall! Bananas are full of omega 3, fibre and also have some (magical) goodness that cures a deathly hangover. My recipe also only uses natural sweetener, from the dates and cinnamon. Also as I use a large quantity of egg whites this offers a great source of additional protein too.

The riper the banana, the better! Ripe bananas have a higher sugar content adding additional sweetness to the loaf, so instead of tossing them, put them to good use by making a banana bread.

Ingredients

2 ripe bananas

1 egg

5 egg whites

2 tspn cinnamon

1 ½ cup of rolled oat flour

1 tspn baking powder

½ tspn bicarbonate of soda

¼ cup of unsweetened almond milk

½ cup chopped dates

Preparation: 10-15 minutes

Cooking: 20-25 minutes

IMG_5882

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees C. Line a loaf tin with grease proof paper and dust lightly with cinnamon.
  2. Mash one banana in a bowl and beat in the egg and whites. Often the mixture won’t combine at this stage, but don’t worry.
  3. Fold in the oat flour, cinnamon baking powder, bicarbonate of soda into cake texture. If the mixture feels too thick add in the almond milk. Add the chopped dates and the final banana in chunks. Transfer into the prepared loaf tin.
  4. Bake in preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into center of loaf comes out clean, 20 to 30 minutes. Leave to cool or eat a little warm. Tastes delightful with peanut butter too! Enjoy. F x
3 comments
  1. Tamsin D said:

    OMG Fifi I think I just died and went to heaven. LOL! Keep up the good work babes Xx

Leave a Reply

