Raw Vegan Chocolate Truffle Balls

IMG_6405

Hope you are all fabulous and having an amazing week. I cannot believe we are approaching the end of the month, time is going super speedy fast. I’ve set up camp in the library for the week as I approach final exams. Revision and studying always leads to continuously rewarding myself with food – usually copious amounts of chocolate. So, today’s post I attempt to find a healthy chocolate alternative.

Cocoa, the main ingredient of chocolate, isn’t actually that bad for us and does in fact hold a number of health benefits. Rather, the sugar and dairy added to the cocoa creates a high fat and calorie sweet treat.

IMG_6404This recipe replaces artificial sugars and instead the sweetness is created from the natural sweetness of the dried fruit and honey. You can also add chocolate protein powder for a protein packed snack, one of my favourites to use is the Impact Diet Whey in Double Chocolate. I use whey protein in all my recipes which I buy from MYPROTEIN, where you can select from a range of flavours.

Studies suggest that cocoa consumption has been associated with decreasing blood pressure, prevention of heart disease and improving our cholesterol. But most importantly it tastes that good it makes us feel good. If you are a chocoholic like me, then these offer a perfect chocolate fix.

I must admit your patience may be tested when making these, but they are so worth it. They are also perfect for a raw and vegan diet too. I managed to make 10 truffles and to be honest I satisfied my chocolate craving after only one and will be experimenting with different tastes in the future. So all my friends and family will be receiving a box of raw vegan chocolate truffles on their birthday!

Ingredients

10 – 15 dates

 ½ cup raisins

2 tspn honey

 2 tspn water

½ tspn vanilla extract

1 tblspn unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tblspn unsweetened desiccated coconut

IMG_6406

Method

  1. Blend the dates and raisins into a paste. Add honey and water to loosen the mixture. As mentioned this stage is rather frustrating, but preserve.
  2. Cream the cocoa into the mixture until you create a chocolate paste, then add the desiccated coconut.
  3. Roll into 10 small balls and dust in coca to finish the truffle. Enjoy! FxIMG_6408

Also, it’s lovely to hear people are trying out some of my ideas, please feel free to send me pictures, feedback and suggestions of your creations as I do appreciate your thoughts.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

