Weight Loss Motivation – The Importance of Health & Nutrition

Hello All!

Apologies for my lack of posts over the last week, it has been a non-stop few days with action packed birthday celebrations. My flat mate and myself have also experienced a case of food poisoning so have been bed bound for the last 24 hours, which has been quite a joy! I am now promising myself that I stay in hibernation until I have to hop onto an aeroplane to Colombia next week. Yippee!

Today’s post is not a recipe I am afraid however I promise I will recommence cooking (and eating!) this week. I just wanted to highlight the importance of a healthy diet as per my previous post. The other day I was in the gym and I kid you not there was a girl on the treadmill next to me, running and eating a flapjack?!! Now, I’m not sure if she was aware of what she was doing, or whether like so many of us thought she could ‘reward’ her exercise with a treat. However, it got me thinking how many of us do this. How many people do you know that leave the gym and go and have a take away because they have ‘been to the gym’? If this much effort has been put into their diet, I dread to think how much effort has gone into their workout.

This post is to explain my concept of weight loss. A lot of people have asked from my recipe post ‘have you lost weight’. In answer to this question, I have no idea, as I rarely weigh myself but I’m happy with the way my body is changing. One of the reasons I created Fifi’s Skinny Munch was because I found a way of being happy with my body and learn to understand the goodness food provides. The image in this post is one of my favourites, as it emphasises the impact your diet has on your body.

IMG_6533

Obviously if you up your exercise excessively then this ratio may change, but generally speaking this is a good rule of thumb to go with. Do not get me wrong exercise is also incredibly important, whether it is for weight loss or to maintain a healthy body exercise is important both physically and mentally. Exercise physically strengthens muscles and bones, lowers blood pressure, improves cholesterol and reduces cardiovascular disease, diabetes and various cancers. Psychologically, exercise is good for your brain and by releasing endorphins improves mental health and moods.

By coupling this with an improved diet will work wonders. It’s the secret. Ignore the marketing of magic diets, pills, exercise crazes or any form of starvation and simply go back to basics. Another common question I’ve had is ‘how many calories do you consume daily’. Again I’ve gone the messages of traditional weight loss regimes and don’t actually find myself courting calories anymore. Although this is a safe way of measuring our food consumption, it sometimes is not the most reliable way of judging a healthy lifestyle. However, in answer to the question, excluding my naughty days I would probably consume around 2,000 and maybe more on some days. I’ve taught myself to eat when I’m hungry. Of course I still think about what it is I’m eating and usually will stick to fruit or a protein snack, but that is all I need to fill me up until my next meal.

Going back to basics, eating fresh and listening to your body will provide positive results. Combine this with a little more exercise and you will be heading into the right direction. Even if it’s walking rather than taking the bus, we all know this is the better option, but so few of us will do the latter.

Hope you are all having an amazing week and if you take any advice from this post then avoid the oysters. It will only end in tears. Enjoy! Fx

Leave a Reply

