Healthy Comfort Food

IMG_7920

I think we all crave some comfort food once in a while and admittedly the weekend is usually the time I cave and have a little binge. My Mam’s sunday roast is one meal I could eat when wanting to warm the cockles of my heart, however it certainly isn’t the healthiest of dinners to consume.

IMG_7925Therefore, today I attempted a healthy version for a few of us. Okay, it didn’t have the dinner plate sized yorkshire puddings or cheese covered cauliflower – but it still hit the spot pretty well. I love all vegetables especially when roasted so, I improvised and created a roast vegetable feast with roast chicken thigh and a side of greens.

I’m not too sure how to write a method for this dish as I pretty much just threw a load of vegetables  (carrots, red onion, new potatoes, courgette and sweet potato) into a baking tray drizzled with olive oil seasoned with salt and pepper and cracked a bulb of garlic (unpeeled) amongst the vegetables. I then added the seasoned chicken thighs, with dried mixed herbs rubbed into the skin on top of the vegetables and popped in the oven and roast for 50-60 minutes at 180C.

IMG_7921

During the last 10 minutes of roasting add a drizzle of honey onto the carrots and dried mixed herbs onto the the new potatoes. Serve with your favourite greens, I used chopped spring cabbage and peas. And voila, an easy and quick healthy sunday roast dinner. Enjoy! Fx

IMG_7923

Leave a Reply

